Real Spellers

English Makes Sense!

Hello Everyone,
I am working on the / /ɑ̄ / sound with students this week. Yet, I am stumped on one word. Why is there a silent-e on the end of the word taste? My understanding is that a silent-e only jumps over one consonant sound. I believe there is a reason for this silent-e yet I can not seem to find it in cyberspace. I am new to word investigation, so if this is an obvious answer, my apologies.
I covet any information anyone can provide me regarding this word.
Thank you,
Krissy Bennett

Comments (5)

This comment was minimized by the moderator on the site

Thanks so much for your question Krissy, and Matt for your response with that great information from the Tool Box. Can you point out what Theme that was from?

This part was particularly helpful. I've bolded a couple bits I think are key to attend to...

- a final single non-syllabic < e >
- that is not a grapheme or part of one
- may be signalling that a previous single-letter vowel grapheme,
- from which it is separated by one or two consonant graphemes
- is orthographically ‘long’.

Firstly, we need to see that word "may" is essential!
Secondly, I don't remember this clear statement that this final, non-syllabic <e> can signal that a previous single-letter grapheme is "orthographically long" when it is separated by one or two consonant graphemes. That this "orthographic marker" <e> can provide that phonological system even when their are two consonant graphemes between that <e> and the single-letter vowel grapheme certainly seems to be supported by the evidence you point to - and I've long thought about how to articulate that pattern.

And sometimes, we can easily see a second function of that marker <e> when we look at pairs like <breath> and <breathe> or <bath> and <bathe>. In those words that <e> is signalling the phonology of the single vowel letter grapheme and also distinguishing words that would otherwise be homographs.

Great stuff!

Peter Bowers