Real Spellers

English Makes Sense!

Hey all,

I had the pleasure of diving into words with my daughter’s Grade 4-5-6 class this morning and as usual some interesting questions popped up. I wanted to share those questions with Real Spellers to see if we might get some ideas from the wider community out there.

As I started to recount the story, I realized that these questions also provide a great opportunity to identify guiding principles of morphological problem-solving as well. I hope that the aside to identify the scientific principles that I try to use to guide my investigation of novel spelling questions provides the reader with useful guidance in their own investigations.

So let’s start!

One student asked me about the word <dramatic>. My knee-jerk reaction was to assume the base <drama>, but a quick word sum revealed a problem:

drama + tic → dramatic ???

I have no knowledge of, nor can I find any evidence of a <-tic> suffix. So what are my options?

Conveniently for me I encountered this student’s question the day after I worked though similar questions in a Skype session with a weekly “study group” of teachers that has formed at The Nueva School since my visit there in October. As a result of that Skype session, I had my own advice to the Nueva teachers fresh in mind as students here in Kingston peppered me with great questions about all sorts of words after I set them off in search of new affixes. I still benefit from explicitly reminding myself of how to respond scientifically to a hypothesized word sum that is tempting, but which has elements that I cannot prove.

Without evidence of a <-tic> a suffix, a scientific inquiry has to give up on the hypothesis that <drama> is the base of <dramatic> -- no matter how tempting it might be!

(How can I prove a suffix? Find at least two words that use the same letter string at the end of a base or stem for a parallel purpose.)