Good morning! This is my first post, although I have been working with groups for about three years investigating spellings and word histories. We are a 4th grade group of word detectives and we are investigating the word <money>. We first wondered about the <ey>. Is this a suffix (or perhaps just -y suffix). We looked at etymonline and discovered in comes from the Old French <monoie>. But we also discovered some related words that made us wonder even more....

<monetary> this word maintains the <e> but the <y> is gone and was not changed to an <i>

<monies> this word loses the <e> but the <yis changed to an <i>.

We used the word searcher to find other words as we knew that words ending in <eyadd <s> to pluralize but we only found one other base that only has 1 consonant between the first vowel and the <ey>, which is <honey>. We are wondering how this information fits in. Is the <e> there to show historical connection? 

Any thoughts? 

Comments (3)

This comment was minimized by the moderator on the site

I was studying the Tool Box for another spelling question and happened upon the possible <ey> suffix. I quickly thought of this recent post and wanted to share what I found.

Check out the Tool Box Kit 4, Theme L. It states that <ey> is not a suffix. There are many examples: money, abbey, honey, barley, alley, journey. These words are considered bases, not complex.

We ran into this trio of words last week in my group of 2nd graders, we could not resolve the structural relationship. I remembered this post and told the students I'd reread it and report back on Monday.

I had not thought of <-ey> being a suffix. An Etymonline search does not return any word-forming elements when searching that as a suffix, however, scrolling down a bit gives etymological info on <kidney> in which the <-ey> has a denotation and further link to <egg> for its shape: http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=kidney&;allowed_in_frame=0