Dear all,
My 6/7 year olds have recently been exploring when suffixes force doubling and I think I found an exception.
edit + ing --> editing
This word seems to adhere to all the steps on the flow chart. Any ideas?

Also, I was of the understanding that all syllables need a vowel, until I stumbled upon "rhythm"- 1 vowel, 2 syllables.

I look forward to hearing your theories.

• I am very new to this, so please correct me if I am wrong.

edit + ing

The stress is not on the syllable just before the suffix, so the suffix is just added.

As far as rhythm - I believe it is a syllabic consonant. Rhythm, algorithm, chasm, schism. What I am not sure about is if it is just the -m or is it -m and -sm

Short URL:
  • Sorry I'm coming to this so late! Just noticed the thread.

Zehnmail, you are dead on about the fact that the final <t> in <editing> does not double because the stress is not on the syllable just before the suffix in the finished word..

Christi, I understand why you and your students thought that you found an exception. Let me encourage you to use this example as an illustration that when you find yourself thinking that you might have "found an exception" that you let that be a red flag to remind yourself to say to yourself and your students "That spelling isn't doing what I expected, so there must be an explanation that we haven't found yet."

It is cannot be overemphasized how much harm the assumption that there are exceptions in English spelling has done to our ability to investigate spelling clearly. Imagine that you were a scientist surprised by a certain characteristic of a plant. No scientist would take the fact that they can't immediately explain that characteristic as evidence that that plant "must be an exception". They would treat that lack of understanding as a gift! Scientists are excited when they discover something they cannot explain, because they recognize that as a sign that they know exactly where they need to look to understand better.